I Deleted Facebook?!?

Apparently, people spend more than 50 minutes a day on Facebook and to me that doesn’t sound like a lot. It seems like were always online these days, swiping our little thumbs up and down our timelines or talking to people on messenger. Back in 2014 and 2015, if you had have asked me how much time I’d spent on Facebook, my answer would have been: none.

At the start of Year 11 I made the tough decision to ban myself from Facebook for two years, which, for any other millennial even the thought of not having a Facebook account is blasphemous.

I don’t know about you, but when I was 15/16 all the school drama happened online. No one fought or argued in person, it was all passive aggressive, snide messages and indirect status’s that were really just petty. Not only did fights happen on line, but people seemed to think that their whole lives had to revolve around their Facebook feed. What we were posting, what we were sharing, and more importantly how many likes we were getting started to become the main focus in our lives. It became this big competition and I just didn’t really see it benefiting anyone in the long run.

At one point I was sucked into this social media frenzy, I thought that if I didn’t get hundreds of likes on my photos that I wasn’t pretty or that I didn’t have any friends. I thought that if I wasn’t posting pictures with a bunch of different people doing crazy things on the weekend that I wasn’t cool. I thought that if I wasn’t posting petty indirect’s, or vague Facebook status’s seeking attention that I wasn’t keeping up with the times. And after a while I realized that trying to do those things didn’t make me feel good. I was never going to get hundreds of likes, or go out and do the exciting crazy things everyone else was doing and post hundreds of amazing photos afterwards, because that just wasn’t me. So, instead of focusing on why I wasn’t getting as many likes as everyone else, I thought I’d be a total nerd and just get rid of the app completely and focus on other more important things for two years.

Thumb up hand with like text on button. Isolated on white.

I’ll admit, the first few months I found myself feeling so bored without a timeline to scroll through. But eventually I stopped wondering what everyone was up to without me and what dramas were ensuing, and started to think more about what was happening in the present. It felt good not to care for a while. It felt good not to worry about when id update my next profile picture and if it’d get enough likes. And as gross and cliché as it sounds, it was nice to be in the present for once, and actually focus on the world around me rather than dwell on the tiny screen in my hand.

After the two years I got it back to post photos from my graduation, and not once did I look at how man likes they got. I put them up for me to look at whenever I wanted, and for my friends to look at too. Not to get likes or comments.

Another two years later and im still on Facebook.

Would I get rid of it again?

Hell no!

I love the doggos too much for that, and keeping in touch with friends and family from both my hometown and my uni-town is just so easy with Facebook in the palm of my hand.

Even though I’m doing a media degree I still don’t get the fuss over likes and such, but hopefully I’m not alone in that!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

